Skiva » Beth Orton SUGARING SEASON 1 oktober

Beth Orton SUGARING SEASON 1 oktober

Beth Orton släpper första nya albumet på 6 år – ‘Sugaring Season’ 1 oktober ANTI/Cosmos

Beth Orton will release ‘Sugaring Season,’ her first album in six years and
her Anti- Records debut, on October 1. Recorded in Portland, Oregon, with
producer Tucker Martine (My Morning Jacket, The Decemberists), the album
bears the fruits of a period of introspection & renewal: deeply lyrical
songwriting, a newfound expressivity of voice, and, more than ever before, a
daring synthesis of her broad musical influences into a powerfully
individual artistic vision. “I stretched myself as a singer on this record
and used voices I never have before as a writer,” she explains. “A lot of
the writing on this record happened in the dead of night, when spiders mend
their webs, with an infant asleep in the next room… as a result, my
writing became a secret again: illicit and my own.”

Go here to listen to the new track “Something More Beautiful”:

For ‘Sugaring Season,’ Orton and Martine have brought together a dream band
of new and old friends: keyboardist Rob Burger, bassist Sebastian Steinberg,
and legendary jazz drummer Brian Blade, along with guitarists Marc Ribot and
Ted Barnes and folksinger Sam Amidon. The album was recorded predominantly
live on the floor as the band reflected and internalized Beth’s disparate
inspirations, from Roberta Flack’s ‘First Take’ album to Pentangle’s
folk-jazz collisions. The songs range across styles from deeply soulful to
effortless and breezy, with open-tuned guitars, pensive pianos, and modal
grooves underpinning her emotional weathervane of a voice.

While Orton has shifted away from the electronic textures that dominated her
early work, her music is still built upon an implicit groove, even if it
emanates from her acoustic guitar rather than from a sequencer. “It may not
be a ‘dance’ beat,” she says, “but it’s definitely there and it’s earthed
and primal and insistent.”

Beth Orton is a BRIT Award-winner and two-time Mercury Prize nominee who has
collaborated with Bert Jansch, Emmylou Harris, Beck, Jim O’Rourke, Terry
Callier, and Ryan Adams among others. Her last album, 2006′s ‘Comfort of
Strangers,’ was called “unerringly lovely” by SPIN and “her most
accomplished record to date” by Uncut.

Fall tour dates will be announced soon.

‘Sugaring Season’ Tracklist

1. Magpie
2. Dawn Chorus
3. Candles
4. Something More Beautiful
5. Call Me The Breeze
6. See Through Blue
7. Poison Tree
8. Last Leaves of Autumn
9. State Of Grace
10. Mystery

Skrivet av Skiva | 3 september, 2012

© Skiva 2018